Agents
What is an AI agent?
Desk-researchedBy Penelope VossNot hands-on tested.
TL;DR · Direct answer
An AI agent is software that can carry a task across steps, not only answer a question. This desk-researched guide groups always-on agents, general agents, agent browsers, and agent builders, and leads with products a UK reader can open now. Nothing here has been hands-on tested.
Available in the UK
Grok Bot is first. The comparison is Grok Bot, Manus, and Claude Cowork. Copilot Cowork is on a UK price page and has its own tool page.
- Grok BotxAI's always-on agent, in beta since 11 August 2026, with its own cloud computer.Available in the UK
- ManusA general agent. The UK site says Manus 2.0 is available on the web, desktop, and mobile.Available in the UK
- Claude CoworkAnthropic's agent for multi-step work in files and tools you choose. The UK is on the supported-regions list.Available in the UK
- Copilot CoworkMicrosoft's multi-step agent for Microsoft 365. The UK price page lists £23.10 per user a month, paid yearly, plus metered Cowork use.Available in the UK
Always-on agents
These products are built to keep a job going after you close the laptop. Grok Bot is the one a UK reader can open. Dots, Muse, and Gemini Spark are listed so the country limit is visible.
- Grok BotxAI's always-on agent, in beta since 11 August 2026, with its own cloud computer.Available in the UK
- DotsOpenAI's always-on agents, launched at DevDay on 29 September 2026. Not on personal ChatGPT Pro in the UK.Not on personal Pro in the UK
- MuseMeta's personal agent, launched on 8 September 2026. Free, with $20 and $100 tiers on Meta's help page. Reportedly not available in the UK.Reportedly not available in the UK
- Gemini SparkGoogle's 24/7 agent. Google's help says it is not available in the United Kingdom.Excludes the UK
General agents
A general agent takes a goal that is not tied to one app you already pay for. Manus publishes a UK site. Genspark's agents page did not state a UK position.
Agent browsers
An agent browser is the browser itself acting on the page, rather than a chat window beside it. Perplexity Comet is the one named here.
Agent builders
Builders are where you assemble an agent out of steps, tools, and triggers. Lindy, Relevance AI, n8n, and Zapier Agents sit in this group. The playbooks on this site still prefer one boring job at a time.
- LindyA no-code agent builder already used in the missed-call playbook. A UK-dialable phone number was not promised on the docs that guide checked.UK number not promised
- Relevance AIAn agent builder. The product page checked on 27 October 2026 did not state a UK position.Not stated on the pages checked
- n8nA workflow builder you can host yourself or run in n8n Cloud. The homepage checked on 27 October 2026 did not state a UK exclusion.No UK exclusion stated
- Zapier AgentsZapier's agent builder. The agents page did not state a UK exclusion. Zapier's help says Agents are moving to AI by Zapier.No UK exclusion stated
Cowork
Cowork is the name Anthropic and Microsoft use for an agent that finishes a multi-step job in the tools you already have. Both of these are marked available in the UK.
- Claude CoworkAnthropic's agent for multi-step work in files and tools you choose. The UK is on the supported-regions list.Available in the UK
- Copilot CoworkMicrosoft's multi-step agent for Microsoft 365. The UK price page lists £23.10 per user a month, paid yearly, plus metered Cowork use.Available in the UK
Retired
ChatGPT agent mode, Operator, and ChatGPT Atlas are retired. OpenAI's help says so. The ChatGPT playbooks were already drafts you send yourself. The status of each retired product is on the tracker.
AI agent trendsUK availabilityWhere a playbook still helps
Sources
- xAI consumer terms of service
- Introducing Manus 2.0
- Anthropic supported countries
- Microsoft Copilot pricing (UK)
AgentShed is independent. This page was desk-researched from the sources below on 27 October 2026. It is not a hands-on test, and it does not quote a customer. There is no affiliate link.
Questions
Which agents can a UK reader open?
Grok Bot, Manus, Claude Cowork, and Copilot Cowork are marked available from the official pages checked on 27 October 2026. Grok Bot is first. Dots, Muse, and Gemini Spark are not options on a personal UK account.
Have these products been tested?
No. The badge says desk-researched. The pages cite vendor documents. They do not report a timed run, a failure count, or a customer quote.
Where is the country table?
On the UK availability tracker. Each row has a status and the date 27 October 2026. Dots, Muse, and Gemini Spark have a signup for when a UK seat exists.